A fabulous holiday in France(1) – Paris

I decided to go to France and enjoy the last bits of my time off this year. Took my holiday for a week and was away to Paris and Béziers for the last eight days. I’ve planned to meet up with my friend, Benoît first in Paris and had another plan to visit Béziers to meet a French family whom I’ve known for many years.

The first place we’ve visited in Paris was The Musée du Louvre. Benoît said, there is a new galleries of the Department of Islamic Art opened to the public last month. So although I’ve visited there three years ago, decided to go there again.
The display of the department’s new exhibition spaces provides an overview of artistic creation from the dawn of Islam in the 7th century to the early 19th century, which is very unfamiliar culture for me. So it was good to know the new civilisation that I had never experienced before.

After that, Benoît took me to the ‘Sacha Finkelsztajn’ most famous Jewish bakery. When Benoît had mentioned this place I was just so curious and interested in the traditional Eastern European Jewish sandwich. In addition, the bakery has a bunch of traditional Jewish desserts.
The sandwich is a heavenly combination of spiced beef, a layer of smoky aubergine spread, another layer of spicy red chili paste, sliced pickles, cucumbers, and tomatoes, all layered on a soft onion roll. WOW!!!

The sandwich was really nice! It was unusual and has it’s own unique flavour with the spread and paste. To be honest, I was not sure I might like the Jewish traditional food as I’ve never tried that before. But once I’ve had a Finkelsztajn sandwich, I just fell in love with it. Then followed the lemon cheese cake which was one of the Jewish desserts and Benoît and I were too fulfilled after our BIG sandwich & cheesecake. I was just really, really happy:D

The next destination was the Île de la Cité  for our second dessert, haha;) Benoît took me one of the famous ice-cream places in Paris located the natural islands in the Seine within the city of Paris called Île de la Cité. As always, it was really difficult to made up my mind to choose the flavour of ice-cream, then finally I could order the Pistachio one for me. As a hardcore ice-cream lover, not unexpectedly it was just perfect!:p

Then we walked to the Notre Dame Cathedral which is a historic Roman Catholic Marian cathedral on the eastern half of the Île de la Cité. On the street heading to the Notre Dame was full of coloured leaves and the autumn was in the air. When I saw the cathedral, it reminded me of the first time I’d visited there and the memories of that time kept popping up in my head…

To be continued in the next post

Eujin’s review of the photos 🐻
1 November 2012 

Leave a Reply

